Is this a move from Facebook to keep users’ life more private?
In a surprising move, Facebook has notified its users that Nearby Friends and other location-based features would be removed entirely by 31st May. The reasons for this move remain unclear but all information regarding these features would be removed from Facebook’s servers. In addition to Nearby Friends; Time Alerts, Location History, and Background Location would also be “going away soon”.
This is what Facebook has to say regarding this announcement
“Nearby Friends and Weather alerts will no longer be available after May 31, 2022. Information you shared that was used for these experiences, including Location History and Background Location, will stop being collected after May 31, 2022, even if you have previously enabled them.“
Some of the leftover data, including the user’s location history would be available for download until 1st August, 2022. After that, all of the information regarding location would be removed permanently. Although, sneaky Facebook would still require access to the user’s location for “other experiences”. This, of course, remains completely optional and both Android and iOS users can simply go to their privacy settings to not let Facebook have access to their location.
You must be logged in to post a comment.